National Youth Orchestra of the United States

8:00PM, Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Walk Festival Hall
Bernstein Symphonic Dances from West Side Story
Britten Violin Concerto, Op. 15
Adams Radial Play
Mussorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition
Gil Shaham violin
David Roberston conductor

NYO-USA’s 2014 program includes the premiere of a new work from American composer Samuel Adams commissioned by Carnegie Hall. This concert will also include Leonard Bernstein’s Symphonic Dances from West Side Story; Benjamin Britten’s Violin Concerto with Gil Shaham; and Mussorgsky’s crowd pleaser Pictures at an Exhibition.

About the National Youth Orchestra of the United States:
Each summer, Carnegie Hall’s Weill Music Institute brings together 120 of the brightest young players from across the country to form the National Youth Orchestra of the United States. Following a two-week training residency these remarkable teenagers tour great music capitals from Carnegie Hall in New York to Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles. This year’s tour features David Robertson on the podium and performances with virtuosic violinist Gil Shaham.