Latin Beats & Pure Biss

8:00PM, Friday, August 8, 2014
Walk Festival Hall
6:00PM, Saturday, August 9, 2014
Walk Festival Hall
Revueltas Sensemaya
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Dvořák from Slavonic Dances op. 72 & 46
Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio Espagnol
Jonathan Biss piano
Miguel Harth-Bedoya conductor

This concert opens with a rhythmically intoxicating and hypnotic work by the Mexican composer Silvestre Revueltas. This visceral work is followed by one of the most sublime piano concertos — Beethoven’s probing, timeless Piano Concerto No. 4. The concert is rounded out by Dvořák’s supremely enjoyable and well-tuned Slavonic Dances and Russian composer Rimsky-Korsakov’s musical evocation of Spain—a veritable feast for the ears!